top of page
Search

My mentors, my family, my God

What a crazy way to end February and start a frenzy March that I haven’t been pausing to take a deep breath and quieten down to process and reflect. Even as I scroll through my gallery of photos in my phone, it is filled with work photos and photos of ART test kits. Either of us as staff, or of the kids’ who had a series of never ending HRN, or of friends who were announcing their Ag+ results. Such is the impact of Omicron on our lives. You get it or you don’t get it.

Or the people around you get it, and you try to prove that you did not get it. Or no one around you is getting it, but you still got to regularly prove you are not getting it. Hopefully we are really over the peak (as what the Govt says) and slowing down to approach normalcy.

It started with a phone call 3 weeks ago where I honestly told the caller:“我很久没有这样被吓到了.” It’s with regards to an important appointment in church which took us all of 2 days to pray and decide. That began a 2 week process of meeting up with various people to better understand the situation of what I am getting into. Each meet up ended with a prayer to God, a hope to see things turn for the better, and an extra weight on my shoulders.

In the midst of all these meet ups, I had to set aside time and energy to go through

A major school appraisal

A wedding

2 funerals

A bike/run race.


It was

mentally,

emotionally,

spiritually

and physically draining.

In the end, I was totally exhausted. I am just a man who has his limitations and weaknesses.

And so I rested. I need time to recover and I found time to talk.

First I talked to senior spiritual figures in my life to seek their opinion over the church appointment. I received valuable insights, assurances and encouragement. One of them shared with me that since “you have the HEART, you have the ABILITY, now you have the OPPORTUNITY, you should SEIZE it.”

Once again, I am blessed by these spiritual mentors in my life, no matter how old I am.

Secondly, I talked to my family. Obviously I spoke to the wife about this new responsibility before I made the decision and she has been my spiritual pillar as I know she will always keep me in her prayers. But I also found time to talk to the kids. From the eldest to the youngest, I spoke to them 1-1 and varied the depth of my explanation. And the depth of their response varied from eldest to youngest too 😂 But I know, I am blessed by my family’s understanding and support, no mater how busy I am.

Thirdly, I talked to God. I acknowledged my weaknesses and limitations to God and cried. I told God I have no talents, no knowledge, no ability to handle the magnitude of the task at hand. I only have a willing heart to offer Him. And I have You, God.

I asked God, is it enough?


God said, I just want your heart. And you have Me, 你还觉得不够吗?

“不是依靠势力,不是依靠才能,乃是依靠我的灵,方能成事。”

撒迦利亚书4:6


And I obeyed. I am loved and blessed by God. His power is made known through my weaknesses.

His grace is sufficient for me and my family.


Please pray for us 🙏



185 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page