top of page
Search

Think good of one another

Our boys had a tiff last night and received a scolding from mama before going to bed. A needs to use the study table in room and shifted the stuffs on the table onto the floor, including J’s chromebook. A did not replace the stuffs back on the table after use and when J came in, he was irritated by his bro for 把我的 chromebook 丢在地上!

And that’s how it began…


I wasn’t home then but returned soon to see a moody mum with 2 moody teenagers and a little sister who was caught in the crossfire.


All were ushered to bed and it took one simple act to cheer everyone up the next morning… Mac breakfast delivery which is a fav of the kids.


And of cos, before they can enjoy the sumptuous bf, some explanation over what happened the night before has to be given…


And my thoughts to them all…


Why do you have to think poorly/badly of each other’s actions?


Why can’t we first see the good in one another? Especially our own kids, our own family members.


Things were probably done out of lack of thoughtfulness, but why do we think it’s done with intentional harm or provocation?


Can you (both brothers) think kindly and good of each other?


And it made me ponder over larger issues that had been happening around me recently.


Why must everything I say or do be judged by whether I have a hidden agenda or not?


Why must we guess and second guess each other’s intentions?


Why must we first think so poorly of one another and assume there’s some ill intentions behind?


“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” John‬ ‭13:34-35‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

To love one another, (including teenagers 😊) we need to first always

SEE THE GOOD IN THEM,

THINK GOOD OF THEM, and

BELIEVE THEY ARE DOING GOOD


Just so happen that a student was supposed to meet me during break time to discuss about an upcoming event. I waited outside the staff room for the entire duration (35mins) but she did not turn up. The usual me would have flared up and think of how irresponsible this student had been to fly aeroplane on her teacher and how she had disrespected my time which could have been spent on better things.

But I did not.

I choose to think good of her and how probably she was caught up with something else. Even if she truly forgot about this, it’s ok, cos we arranged it at quite the last minute.


With that attitude, I was able to move on with the rest of my day without feeling grouchy over being bypassed or forgotten.

Let’s learn to see the good in one another first, think good of one another, and believe we are all good 🙏

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page