top of page
Search

What I wish my dad knew

This title struck me hard this week.

As a son, there are so many things I wish my dad knew. So if I imagine I were a son to my father, what would I have wished he knew…


When I was 10,

I wish my dad knew how much I miss spending time with him. We did not have much father-son bonding time and I always remember the times he took time off to bring me to cycle at ECP.

When I was 15,

I wish my dad knew how mightily proud I am when I saw him in the crowd during my sec 2 interclass swimming games and I walked up the podium to receive my award. That’s the one and only time he turned up to see me receive a prize. I wish my dad knew how sorry I am when I shouted at him for throwing my stuffs away without my permission. I was a hot blooded 15yo. I didn’t even want those stuffs but I walked out of the house anyway. I wish he knew I was actually crying at the stairs, for losing my temper at him.

When I was 18, I wish he knew how ecstatic I was when he made the decision to become a Christian. It was a 5 years prayer answered.

My dad passed away when I was 22. I have missed the chance to tell him all these things I wished he knew, and so much more. I wish he knew my wife, my kids, the daily happenings in my job, how I make decisions in life…


Now let’s change our perspectives…

As a dad, a lot of times I thought I knew, but I didn’t. And in a lot of times, I knew wrong.


A few incidents that happened during the span of this month made me realise once again the limitations of man. I thought I knew and knew it well. But I didn’t.

These incidents also allowed me to have some deeper conversations with my kids. I thought I knew how they think. If given a choice now on hindsight, what would you have done?

Did your friends feel the same way?

Thank God through these conversations, now I know better.

I really should know better. And I wish I knew better. So that my kids would have lesser of ‘what I wish my dad knew‘ moments. It is going to be difficult and almost impossible to accomplish.

As a dad, I am willing to try my best to know. To my kids, if you are reading this, please help papa and mama KNOW. You really matter to us.


For daddies reading this, Kallos is organising their first ever webinar for dads of pre-teen and teen daughters based on their local research with 100 girls on what they wished their dads knew, together with these amazing male speakers and panellist dads. You can sign up through the link below 👇



Please share this with parents you know who may benefit from this!

176 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page