top of page
Search

一个男人(3)

一个男人要护家


How much will you go to protect your family?


So we got married and during those pre-historic days before we had kids, we joined a church cell group of parents with kids. Don't ask me why but maybe they invited us to join them in order to

  1. Inspire us to have kids. Be Fruitful and Multiply!

  2. OR scare us off having kids totally.

Anyway during one of the outings, we went for a picnic at West Coast Park. We set up the picnic mats, laid out the food and gave the kids a soccer ball and just let them kick around while the adults chilled. Interestingly, all 4 kids are boys and a ball was enough to keep them occupied while the adults chatted.

Whoever said having boys was difficult huh?

After a while, one of the boys came back and told us that there was an older group of boys who challenged them to a game and our boys were 3 players short. We looked over and it was pretty clear cut the other side was a much stronger team. They were obviously older which meant longer legs, bigger sizes and they were geared in football jerseys which meant they must be good right?


Sadly, the answer is YES. The 2 fathers and me joined our boys and we got a trouncing. In the midst of the game, I was clearly frustrated as the 4 boys kept giving the ball away and the older kids don't seem to understand SPORTSMANSHIP. Hello, you are playing against toddlers and old men! Where's the joy in winning?


It.was.super.frustrating. Especially when you see the disappointment on the faces of our kids, and the smirks on the other side. But yet, the 2 fathers kept on smiling. As we cooled down and nursed our wounded egoes (ok actually only MINE), one father suggested buying ice-cream and the kids immediately forgot about the humiliating defeat, and the other father had a chat with me.


If we don't stand on their side, then who will?

If we don't join them in this game on their side, despite knowing we are going to lose (and lose badly), then who will?


I am my family's first line of defence.

I am the first person they turn to when they need help.


Do I offer them the assurance and security?

If not me, then who?


When I held our first-born in the delivery suite for the first time, as the nurses and doctor were still fussing over the wife, I cradled the baby in my arms and I was overwhelmed with emotions. I felt a sense of power and responsibility armouring me up bit by bit. Just like Ironman having his nano-suit gearing him up. And I knew in that instant, I am a father, this is my child. If at that moment, someone barged into the delivery suite with a knife and attempt to hurt him, I will protect my child with all of my life.

If not me, then who?


Will you be on their side? To assure them, to protect them.

Will you lay down your life to protect them?


If not me, then who?

一个男人要护家


"By this we know love, because He laid down His life for us. And we also ought to lay down our lives for the brethren." 1 John 3:16

131 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page